top of page

Deering Walkabout

"If you truly love nature, you will find beauty everywhere." Laura Ingalls Wilder

Deer track

Today was one of those warm sunny deep azure sky days of early spring here in the Pacific Northwest. They tend to be few and far between at this time of year. I took advantage of the 60-degree day and went for a walk in the woods at Deering Wildflower Acres Park. It is a 30-acre remnant forest intermingled with lovely little wetlands. There are 1.2 miles of trail which wind through the park. At the right time of the year bleeding heart, trillium, and other forest wildflowers can be found line the trail. Today it was only newly emerged skunk cabbage and buds on shrubs. No sweet spring scent, yet.


As I ambled along the trail, I pondered the loss of the surrounding forested hillsides that encircled this park. What happened to all of the wildlife and big trees and wetlands, and ponds that used to be here? Large houses in large developments encircle the park having taken out the natural areas. All that development makes it difficult to feel the solitude I crave when in nature. I tried to tune out the sounds of the freeway and Highway 9; 2.5 and 1 mile away, respectively.


Western hemlock

Eventually, I concentrated on the birds and the forest and pushed the outside noise away. It takes a slow walk, skill, and patience to look up, down, and all around plus listen for birds’ songs and calls without falling down. I found deer tracks in the muddy trail and a critter trail between the pond and a marshy area. Big trees and little trees, moss and lichen, mushrooms and ferns kept my eye to the ground. The calls and songs of the awakening birds called me back into the forest quiet. There were Hutton’s vireos, ruby-crowned kinglet, golden-crowned kinglet, hairy woodpecker, pileated woodpecker, American robin, Anna’s hummingbird, black-capped chickadees, brown creepers, song sparrow, and Pacific wren. I probably left a few out. Then I imagined fairies and wee folk hiding in all those dark hidey holes of the forest. I let myself meld with the trees.


Douglas-fir

The deep furrowed bark of Douglas-fir, buttressed base of Western redcedar, and fluffy-looking branches of Western hemlock make up the evergreen contingent. Deciduous trees include red alder, black cottonwood, and bigleaf maple. All of these trees are typical of Pacific Northwest forests. All intertwined with the history of this place. My place. My home.


It felt so good to get out of the house and breathe deep the fresh air. I only saw two people- a father and young son. The little guy might have been four years old. He ran down the dead-end boardwalk to find out what I was looking for. Satisfied when I said frog and salamander egg masses he ran back to dad and off they went. I didn’t find any egg masses, but it was fun to share that with him. I wish I had had time to tell him about the magic of the forest- the deer tracks, the edible plants, the age of some of the really big trees. The likelihood that coyotes and bobcats and maybe a river otter or beaver. I hope he learns to slow down and see the forest. Not this time.


I look forward to going back in a month or so to delight in trilliums and bleeding heart and newly arrived neotropical migrants- our warblers, tanager, vireos, and other migratory birds. Leaves will have emerged, and that sweet smell will fill the lungs. Spring will be in full swing.




Photos L to R- There's a critter trail on each side of the main trail. Sword fern groundcover. Biggest pond in the park. Trail section. Licorice ferns on tree trunk. Lichen. Newly emerged skunk cabbage in wetland pond. The understory and a hidey hole and wetland in the back. Jelly fungus often called "witches butter."

Fungus breaking a log into soil. Pileated woodpeckers seem to love this snag.

bottom of page