top of page

A Sunday Meltdown

"And into the forest I go, to lose my mind, and find my soul." John Muir


S fork Stillaguamish River

Today I was pushed to the edge of the abyss of madness

Talking was sobbing

I ate just enough junk to stave off hunger pangs

Unrelenting headaches and heartburn threatens the return of the ulcer

I drive to the forest in the never-ending deluge of rain and tears

Up to the national forest to where the road is closed for snow

I find a small riverside picnic area full of deep puddles and snowbank

The fresh cold air rejuvenates

Silence but for the rushing clear water, raindrop plops into puddles, and the occasional vehicle

Greens are enhanced by rain- ferns, mosses, lichens, fir needles, cedar's scaly leaves

Grays and browns blend into the landscape



Base of W redcedar

The screaming in my head abates

My heart releases to the forest

My soul cools

I recognize there will be days like this and I will continue to listen and act on the need to drive as far as I can to refresh my soul

The forest calls

The forest listens

The forest heals

The forest restores




bottom of page